Anurag Thakur

mphamirpur@gmail.com Twitter @ianuragthakur Twitter @anurag_office
Minister of State for Finance & Corporate Affairs, GOI 4th Term Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha (Hamirpur)
Mr Anurag Thakur is a fourth term elected Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha/ Lower House) from Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh. As Minister of Finance, he has adopted an “Open Glass Door” approach towards policy making through multi- stakeholder consultations towards achieving the target of a USD $ 5 Trillion economy.
Within Parliament he served as the Chief Whip for the BJP during the 16th Lok Sabha and was the youngest to assume the post. He has also served as the Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Information Technology, India Representative to the WTO Parliamentary Steering Committee, Member of Public Accounts Committee, Member of the Finance Committee amongst others. He is also a commissioned Officer in the Territorial Army and serves as a Lieutenant of the 124 Sikh Regiment.
He is the former National President of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM- Youth Wing of the Bharatiya Janata Party) and has been the only National President to be appointed for three consecutive terms in the BJP. He is also the first BJYM National President to have worked under three different BJP Presidents - Mr Amit Shah, Mr Rajnath Singh and Mr Nitin Gadkari.
Mr Thakur is an avid sports lover and has contributed immensely to sports in the capacity of a sports administrator. He has served as the President at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), President Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA). He is credited with building the world famous Dharamshala Cricket Stadium.
He was appointed by Global Fund as the Global Champion in the category of Public Health for creating awareness about Malaria, TB & HIV AIDS. He is a recipient of the Best Young Parliamentarian Award 2011 and recognized as a “Young Global Leader” by the World Economic Forum. He is also the recipient of the Saansad Ratna Award 2019 for his exemplary performance within Parliament and social initiatives.
He serves as the President of the EU-India Parliamentary Friendship Group, President of the FICCI Indo-US Parliamentarians Forum and India-Germany Parliamentarians Forum. He is an acclaimed public speaker at various international forums on public health, Information Technology, National Security, Governance, Sports Administration and issues concerning young people.

First name
Last name